Sprinting Trials

In my last post, I talked about trying out “sprinting”. Sprinting is what I’m going to name the act of typing to reach a certain amount of words in a set time. In my case I followed a lady’s advice and tried for 500 words in half an hour.

So I set myself up with an alarm, set up my video camera, a computer and some trusty UK Drill music and off I went! I actually had 3 attempts in all. Below is a bit of a report on what happened.

First go

I suprised myself with this one as it actually went ok! I kept writing for most of it and finished just short of my 500 words – 450. Ok, that seems a long way off, but in reality its maybe 3 or 4 sentences off, so I’m taking it as a win – not bad for a 1st attempt!

My first attempt – (I did play some UK Drill but my computer’s inbuilt microphone is rubbish at picking up sound – the playlists are below if you want to listen to them yourself!)

2nd Attempt

Attempt 2 was a bit of a write off as first of all, my camera inexplicably stopped recording and then on my 2nd go, I was interrupted by my Fiancée (really missing those weekend trips to the library now!). – Look for the really funny bit when she comes in at about 12 and a half minutes. But even this didn’t seem to stop my performance as I smashed my target and got nearly just over 550 words! Video of my progress below!

Sprint 2 – unlike the Blur song however, this one doesn’t last 2 minutes!

3rd Attempt

This went almost perfectly… Well, perfect in the sense that there were no distractions and I got to where I wanted to go. Unfortunately the mic didn’t pick up much in terms of sound, so I sound a bit muffled! And once again, there was no UK Drill playing in the background. I got close again to my target – 490 words, but I think I’m getting the hang of it now…

Over to you!

So, now I’m getting there, I think I’m going to write a special monthly Sprint story. But to do it, I’m going to need your help. If you want, relpy in the comments with a few story prompt. At the end of each month, I’ll pick one, do a sprint using it and post it a week later (hey, I have to edit aswell you know). Due to August being very busy for me (hopefully, I’ll be marrying my Fiancée on the 8th, then I have my mother’s 70th birthday) the first one will be done in the first week of September. Closing date for suggestions 28th August. So send me your ideas!

Before I forget, here’s the playlist I used for each sprint, just in case you wanted to hear what goes on in my mind… 😄

Playlist for Sprint 1

Sprint 2 Playlist

Sprint 3 playlist

Ok, this one was an album… Known Zoo by Zone 2

All songs are available on Spotify

See you all soon!

AfroCelt 👍🏿

Leave a comment